ShowEast 2014 to Honor Jody And Stanley J. Reynolds with Al Shapiro Distinguished Service Award

on July 09, 2014

showeast.pngNEW YORK, NY - Jody Reynolds, Secretary of the Board for Reynolds & Reynolds Inc., and Stanley J. Reynolds, President/CEO of Reynolds & Reynolds Inc. will receive the 2014 Al Shapiro Distinguished Service Award at ShowEast during the Final Night Awards Ceremony on October 30, 2014 at the Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa in Hollywood, Florida, hosted by The Coca-Cola Company.

Each year, the Al Shapiro Distinguished Service Award honors those who best represent the ideals and standards that the late Al Shapiro set during his distinguished career. It epitomizes his dedication, care and concern for the betterment of people within the motion picture industry.

"Jody and Stan have selflessly dedicated themselves to making a difference in the lives of children through their many charitable endeavors," stated Andrew Sunshine, Co-Managing Director of ShowEast. "They are well-known throughout the theatrical exhibition industry in the US for creating a unique insurance program for motion picture theatres. I cannot think of two people more deserving of receiving this year's Al Shapiro Distinguished Service Award."

Jody and Stanley J. Reynolds are the Secretary of the Board, and President/CEO, respectively, of Reynolds & Reynolds, Inc., Insurance Agents & Brokers. Stan founded the company in 1976 and it has grown from two people to one of the largest independent insurance agencies in Iowa. Reynolds & Reynolds is a full service insurance agency for property, casualty, employee benefits, bonds, life, and personal lines, and it has a special nationwide program for movie theatres. Iowa special programs include The Iowa School Board Association (ISEBA); The Iowa Bar Association; and The Iowa Home Builders Association. Special departments include transportation, construction, energy, and manufacturing.

Jody Reynolds has spent much of her time working for charitable endeavors, most notably Variety- the Children's Charity of Iowa, becoming the first woman president after serving in various capacities. She has been instrumental in the success of the Variety Telethon in Iowa for 40 years. It has grown from $151,000 in 1975 to $4,101,023 in 2014.

Jody has been an International Officer of Variety- the Children's Charity since 1987, serving as International Ambassador; International Fund Raising Chair; and Vice President. She was elected Sr. Vice President in London in 2000 and she was the first woman elected International President in April 2001 in Barbados.

She has been very involved with the International Red Cross, serving in Vietnam during the war, and she has remained active as a volunteer. She has also served on the boards of Blank Children's Hospital; Convalescent Home for Children; Orchard Place; and the Roosevelt Foundation.

Stanley J. Reynolds has worked hard for charitable endeavors, most notably the Variety Club. He served as President of Variety- The Children's Charity of Iowa in 1976-1977 after having served in most capacities in that organization. He is one of the four founders and is the producer of the Variety of Iowa Telethon to help the children of Iowa. In 2014 the Telethon raised over $4,100,000 for kids in need. The telethon has raised more than $99,000,000 since its inception in 1975. Mr. Reynolds was International President of Variety in 1990 and 1991 and served as Chairman of the Board, 1992-1993.

Stan has received numerous honors in recognition of his many contributions to the local and international community including the Variety Club Humanitarian Award; Socially Responsible Entrepreneur of the Year; Boys Scout of America "Distinguished Iowa Citizen Award"; the B.V. Student Award from movie industry; Community Involvement Award from the Des Moines Chamber of Commerce; and he and his wife Jody were recipients of the Des Moines Register's Iowa Star Award in 2006. He was inducted into the Iowa Insurance Hall of Fame in 2011.

He has appeared on telethons in Buffalo, St. Louis, Philadelphia, Los Angeles, Winnipeg, and Des Moines. He has also emceed dinners for March of Dimes; American Cancer Society; Blank Zoo; Boys' & Girls' Club; Iowa Society of Fund Raising Executives; Blank Children's Hospital; Mercy Medical Center; and Cystic Fibrosis. He is a member of the Bankers Trust Company Advisory Board; Variety- the Children's Charity of Iowa Board; and Variety International Board.

Past recipients of the Al Shapiro Distinguished Service Award include: Mike Polydoros, Zach Beebee, John C. Hall, Branden d. Miller, Kelly O'Connor, Nancy Kleuter, Scott Forman, Patricia Gonzalez, Bud Stone, John Lundin, and Steve Bunnell.

ShowEast 2014 will take place October 27-30 at the Westin Diplomat Resort and Spa in Hollywood, Florida. It will feature screenings of major upcoming films, sponsored events, timely and informative seminars and the ShowEast Trade Show. An estimated 1,300 members of the motion picture industry are expected to attend. ShowEast, now in its 29th year, is produced by Prometheus Global Media, owner of leading entertainment publications and events including Film Journal International, Billboard, The Hollywood Reporter, Backstage, Adweek, Dick Clark Productions, the CLIO Awards, CineEurope, and CineAsia.

Tags: ShowEast

read all News »


No comments were posted.

What do you think?