OAKBROOK TERRACE, Ill., -- Redbox, the popular DVD rental kiosk provider, and wholly-owned subsidiary of Coinstar, Inc. (Nasdaq: CSTR), today announced it has started rolling out Blu-rayTM titles with availability at approximately 13,300 kiosks nationwide. Redbox will rent Blu-ray Discs® at $1.50 per night plus tax and the company expects to have availability across its network of approximately 23,000 kiosk locations by the fall.

"Offering Blu-ray rentals is an exciting opportunity for redbox to expand our product offerings and build on the relationships that we've established with millions of consumers nationwide," said Mitch Lowe, president, redbox. "Redbox is a convenient, affordable home entertainment provider and we're delighted to offer consumers their favorite movies on the increasingly popular Blu-ray Disc format."

According to a recent report by the Digital Entertainment Group, sales of Blu-ray players increased 103 percent in the first half of this year. The sale of almost two million set-top players during this time has increased the total number of Blu-ray players sold to an estimated 19.4 million, resulting in more consumers entering the Blu-ray rental market.

The Book of Eli, Bounty Hunter, Brooklyn's Finest and Green Zone are among the Blu-ray titles currently available at redbox® kiosks. The number of Blu-ray titles and copies will vary by kiosk and location with new titles being added each week. Consumers can visit www.redbox.com/bluray to find a nearby redbox location and to check Blu-ray availability in their area. Consumers can return their Blu-ray rentals to any redbox location as part of the company's rent-and-return anywhere® policy.

Each fully automated redbox kiosk holds 630 discs, representing up to 200 titles, including standard definition DVDs and Blu-ray Discs at select locations. Consumers simply use a touch screen to select their favorite movies, swipe a valid credit or debit card and go. For added convenience, customers can visit www.redbox.com to select their movie online or via the iPhone® app from redbox and pick it up immediately at the redbox location of their choice.


Read more

KNOXVILLE, Tenn. -- Regal Entertainment Group (NYSE: RGC), a leading motion picture exhibitor owning and operating the largest theatre circuit in the United States, today announced fiscal second quarter 2010 results.

Total revenues for the second quarter ended July 1, 2010 were $730.7 million compared to total revenues of $789.2 million for the second quarter ended July 2, 2009. Net income attributable to controlling interest in the second quarter of 2010, which included an $11.5 million after-tax loss on debt extinguishment, was $4.8 million compared to $40.5 million in the second quarter of 2009. Diluted earnings per share was $0.03 for the second quarter of 2010 compared to $0.26 for the second quarter of 2009. Adjusted diluted earnings per share(1) was $0.12 for the second quarter of 2010 compared to $0.30 for the second quarter of 2009. Adjusted EBITDA(2) was $128.4 million for the second quarter of 2010 and $167.1 million for the second quarter of 2009. Reconciliations of non-GAAP financial measures are provided in the financial schedules accompanying this press release.

Regal's Board of Directors also today declared a cash dividend of $0.18 per Class A and Class B common share, payable on September 17, 2010, to stockholders of record on September 9, 2010. The Company intends to pay a regular quarterly dividend for the foreseeable future at the discretion of the Board of Directors depending on available cash, anticipated cash needs, overall financial condition, loan agreement restrictions, future prospects for earnings and cash flows as well as other relevant factors.

"We continue to be pleased with the pace of our digital cinema and 3D rollout and were happy to complete the acquisition of eight theatres from AMC in late June," stated Amy Miles, CEO of Regal Entertainment Group. "We are also encouraged by the year-to-date and early third quarter box office results and the outlook for the remainder of the year," Miles continued.

Forward-looking Statements:

This press release includes "forward-looking statements" within the meaning of Section 27A of the Securities Act of 1933, as amended, and Section 21E of the Securities Exchange Act of 1934, as amended. All statements included herein, other than statements of historical fact, may constitute forward-looking statements. Although the Company believes that the expectations reflected in such forward-looking statements are reasonable, it can give no assurance that such expectations will prove to be correct. Important factors that could cause actual results to differ materially from the Company's expectations are disclosed in the risk factors contained in the Company's 2009 Annual Report on Form 10-K filed with the Securities and Exchange Commission on March 1, 2010. All forward-looking statements are expressly qualified in their entirety by such factors.


Read more

Source: THR

J.J. Abrams is set to produce Boilerplate: History's Mechanical Marvel at Paramount. The project takes a similar approach to the one used in Forrest Gump by inserting the world's first robot into key historical events such as World War I.

The next Abrams-directed flick to hit theaters will be Super 8, which had its teaser premiere in front of Iron Man 2. Steven Spielberg serves as a producer on that project.

Read more

July 29 Update: Bob Kerrey has turned down an offer to lead the MPAA. The official release:


Washington, D.C. - The Motion Picture Association of America, Inc. (MPAA) today announced that the MPAA Board and former Senator Bob Kerrey have agreed to end negotiations regarding the position of Chief Executive Officer of the MPAA. The search process for a new CEO will continue.

July 23 Update:

Source: THR

Bob Kerrey is reportedly ready to take over the MPAA role of Chairman and CEO with a salary of $1.2 million a year. The only question now is when he'll start.

Kerrey replaces Dan Glickman in the coveted role. Glickman stepped down earlier this year, and Bob Pisano has been serving in a temporary leadership role ever since.

Kerrey will face lots of challenges such as piracy, release windows and shrinking revenues from DVD/Blu-ray sales.

Read more

Columbia announced today that Len Wiseman (Live Free or Die Hard, the Underworld films) has won directing duties on a remake of Total Recall that will come from a script by Kurt Wimmer (Equilibrium).

This new Total Recall will once again be based on the Philip K. Dick story, "We Can Remember It for You Wholesale."

Paul Verheoven directed the original adaptation in 1990 with Arnold Schwarzenegger and Sharon Stone in the lead roles. That film grossed $119 million domestically, which translates to $224 million when adjusting for inflation.

Read more

Subscribe to Articles Feed