Marvel's mightiest meet Michael Bay

Marvel's The Avengers

on April 20, 2012 by Amy Nicholson
Print

avengersreview.pngThe bad news is that if you haven't seen Thor, Captain America and Iron Man 2that's six hours and three minutes of homeworkThe Avengers won't make sense. The good news is if you're a human under the age of 45, you probably already have. Or you'll at least be sitting near a Marvel movie A-student who'll forgive you for whispering, "Wait, that giant blonde dude and that skinny brunette guy are brothers?" Headlong, hyper-kinetic and thoroughly uninterested in playing catch-up, The Avengers is the culmination of two years of summer blockbuster buzz. Now that we've spent over a billion and a half dollars buying tickets to see Chris Hemsworth, Chris Evans and Robert Downey Jr. solo, we can get them in a multi-pack with Mark Ruffalo's Hulk, Scarlett Johansson's Black Widow and Jeremy Renner's Hawkeye thrown in for kicks (or for historical accuracy, if you're a longer-term fan). Finally seeing the damned thing is a bit like standing around a cuckoo clock waiting for noon: you know what to expect, yet you're thrilled into smiling. The Avengers should dominate the May box officeit came, it chirped, it will conquer.

It's a compliment to LokiThor's vengeful adopted brother, last seen plummeting into a wormholethat he returns as the only villain in a six-against-one smash-up. As played by Tom Hiddleston, a tall, slender and smart Brit, Loki has Iron Man's brains, Captain America's brawn and Hawkeye's accuracy with a weapon, here, a mind-controlling staff that he wields with the grace of Fred Astaire-turned-assassin. His grand plan is to destroy his brother's beloved earth by finding a tall building, opening a hole in the sky, and inviting in a metal army who will enslave humankind. Apparently, bootleg copies of Transformers 3 made it to Asgard. Meanwhile, Samuel L. Jackson's Nick Fury has been preparing for something like this to happen and quickly rounds-up his superheroes of fortune as far as India, Russia and outer space for an awkward meet-and-greet that's like the first day of superhero summer camp. They clash, they mock, they test, and finally they fight alongside each other in a build-up that's so teasingly delayed, the audience bursts into applause for a shot already seen in the trailer.

The Avengers almost works. It's funny and it's physical, but even at two and a half hours, it plays like it's on fast-forward. Forget character developmentthere's not even character explanation. The lesser Avengers are most slighted. After two movies with Black Widow and Hawkeye, I know less about them than I do the fighting Panda in Tekken. But at least Johansson and Renner get to square off in the flick's best mano-a-mano battle, which is thrilling and wince-worthy because they're human and evenly matchedeveryone else just slams each other against trees. Much of the movie is rotating video game mash-ups: Thor against Iron Man, Iron Man against Hulk, Hulk against Loki. It'd get monotonous if writer-director Joss Whedon hadn't written in literal punchlinesthere's at least two face-smashes that get a loud laugh. And some of the best duels are mental, like a calculating showdown between Black Widow and Loki. They never touch, but the violence hums.

The problem is that after controlling their own fiefdoms, these characters don't play well with others. After selling us on a sad and soulful Captain America and an operatic Thor, their pulp majesty is cut off at the knees by throwaway quips from Downey Jr.'s Iron Man ("What is this, Shakespeare in the park?") who still operates as though he's in his own movie. The comedy zings and I'd give an arm to have Whedon take over Iron Man 3, but I'm with the Cap when he sighs, "Is everything a joke to you?" In order to shoe-horn in The Avengers before Thor 2, Whedon has to shrug and ignore an ending that had Thor trapped on Asgard longing to reunite with his dream girl scientist Jane (Natalie Portman). Here, he somehow lands back on earth no problemo, and when he learns Jane was transferred six states away for her own safety, he doesn't even bother to visit. And Samuel L. Jackson continues to be the franchise's weak link as an unconvincing military bureaucrat. Though his co-stars fight in horned helmets or turn green when enraged, he can't even credibly wear an eye patch.

Surprisingly, it's the Hulk who lumbers away with the movie. In contrast to the last two efforts to deepen Hulk with woe and wrath like a minty Brünnhilde, Mark Ruffalo plays him like a guy who just wrapped up a coffee date. His Bruce Banner is scruffy, mellow and at peace with the fact that he's a normal-ish man doing his best not to slip into a homicidal rampage. In India, he must have done a lot of yoga. As he chills out in S.H.I.E.L.D.'s invisible plane, you sense his compatriots musing, "That's the living embodiment of rage against the machine?" It is. And it's the contrast that sells it. Give Ruffalo his own Hulk moviehey, third time's a charm.

If such a thing can be said about a $220 million dollar blockbuster, The Avengers needs more ambition. Sure, it's fine for most films to host their battle royale in downtown Manhattan, but the superfriends deserve more. Prehistoric metal monsters smashing up skyscrapers? We've seen that before. For Avengers 2 (because there will inevitably be an Avengers 2) ask not what Michael Bay would do to New Yorkask what Hieronymus Bosch would do to anywhere he damn well pleased. A film from a comic universe has no limits to its creativity. At least, one bold scene in The Avengers has no limits to its audacity. In an early display of Loki's strength, he touches down in Germany and forces the people to their knees. "You were made to be ruled," he sneers at the citizens of Stuttgart. Only one man stands: a Holocaust survivor. We know the villains of earth. Give us more about the villainsand heroesof our imagination.

Distributor: Disney
Cast: Scarlett Johansson, Chris Evans, Robert Downey Jr., Gwyneth Paltrow, Paul Bettany, Stellan Skarsgard, Don Cheadle, Samuel L. Jackson, Mark Ruffalo, Lou Ferrigno, Clark Gregg, Jeremy Renner, Chris Hemsworth, Tom Hiddleston, Cobie Smulders
Director: Joss Whedon
Screenwriter: Joss Whedon
Producer: Kevin Feige
Genre: Action
Rating: PG-13 for Intense Sequences of Sci-Fi Violence and Action Throughout, and a Mild Drug Reference
Running time: 143 min.
Release date: May 4, 2012

 

Tags: Scarlett Johansson, Chris Evans, Robert Downey Jr., Gwyneth Paltrow, Paul Bettany, Stellan Skarsgard, Don Cheadle, Samuel L. Jackson, Mark Ruffalo, Lou Ferrigno, Clark Gregg, Jeremy Renner, Chris Hemsworth, Tom Hiddleston, Cobie Smulders, Joss Whedon, Kevin Feige
Print

read all Reviews »


116 Comments

  • THGhost on 20 April 2012

    First rotten review on Rotten Tomatoes, even though it's 3/5. Damn you!

    • TDKR on 20 April 2012

      There will be more negative reviews. This is just the 1st, just get used to it.

      She may be a DC fangirl but her opinions count too.

      • Amy Stain on 24 April 2012

        Amy Nicholson, you're such a joke right now that even major movie and entertainment sites are starting to point out how inept and out of touch you are with the majority of your "peers" and how one tragic hack has brought down The Avenger's score from a perfect 100% to 96%.

        But don't worry, insect that one rotten review will remain one especially when normal high-principled critics would best avoid being lumped in with something like you. So in a few days when you check back at Rotten Tomatoes and the New York Times has posted its glowing review of the best comic book movie ever and you see 267 fresh vs. 1 rotten I hope you'll at least be able to muster an iota of shame but then again judging by the level of scruples a cretin like you has exhibited I don't think any one should hold their breathe, right?

        • aury on 24 April 2012

          I was looking forward to reading a non-fanboyish, non-sugarcoating review of this movie.

          Too bad it's not written by a critic I can take seriously.

          Amy Nicholson has forever lost that status with her "review" of Pan's Labyrinth which made it brutally obvious that she had really only seen the trailer rather than the full movie, but didn't let that stop her from from slamming it with the most ridiculous "arguments" (like suggesting that well-known characters from thousands-of-years-old Spanish mythology are "rippoffs" of Harry Potter characters, to name one).

          • DVDA on 26 April 2012

            Rotten Tomatoes Update: We're in at 38 fresh reviews versus your one desperate cry for attention, you ridiculous laughing stock. I checked your other "reviews" listed on RottenTomatoes and it's obvious you don't know what you're doing. When is this writing thing going to fizzle out, so you can start making your own jewellery?

          • DVDA on 26 April 2012

            Now we're at 39.

        • DVDA on 24 April 2012

          Rotten Tomatoes Update: We're in at 28 fresh reviews versus your one review, you rotten ****. Don't you look like the piece of **** you are right now.

        • DVDA on 25 April 2012

          Rotten Tomatoes Update: We're in at 32 fresh reviews versus your one pathetically pointless review, you soulless drone. Hope you end working at a McDonalds.

      • DVDA on 24 April 2012

        Rotten Tomatoes Update: We're in at 28 fresh reviews versus your one review, you rotten ****. Don't you look like the piece of **** you are right now.

        • magenk on 24 May 2012

          Seriously? Why would you feel compelled to say something so mean spirited? Does it make you feel like you're accomplishing something?

    • 34903I4 on 23 April 2012

      Hope your site got the hits it so desperately craves, you sad pathetic excuse for a human being.

    • Amy Stain on 24 April 2012

      Amy Nicholson, you're such a joke right now that even major movie and entertainment sites are starting to point out how inept and out of touch you are with the majority of your "peers" and how one tragic hack has brought down The Avenger's score from a perfect 100% to 96%.

      But don't worry, insect that one rotten review will remain one especially when normal high-principled critics would best avoid being lumped in with something like you. So in a few days when you check back at Rotten Tomatoes and the New York Times has posted its glowing review of the best comic book movie ever and you see 267 fresh vs. 1 rotten I hope you'll at least be able to muster an iota of shame but then again judging by the level of scruples a cretin like you has exhibited I don't think any one should hold their breathe, right?

  • Shaman on 20 April 2012

    Wow, you really didn't want this to be good, didn't you? Such misery... it's pathetic, really.

  • christpohpergee on 20 April 2012

    I saw a screening and think you're absolutely wrong.
    Also agree with THGhost. You gave this 3/5. It should be fresh. Don't be stupid.

    • DVDA on 24 April 2012

      Well, I hope you realize that your opinion is shared with every critic who has seen this film so far...well, except this nitwit of course.

      See internet, this is what happens when you give your PA the change to write reviews because it's cheaper than hiring a proper male writer.

  • ChunLiSBK on 20 April 2012

    Wow, three stars? Really? While Hunger Games has four and a half?
    The score doesn't seem to match the tone of the review at all. Did you decide on the number before you watched the movie?

    • 34903I4 on 23 April 2012

      She asked her boyfriend what score she should give. Just stick to rom-coms, bitch.

  • christpohpergee on 20 April 2012

    Also she gave Green hornet "fresh" on RT, and Avengers rotten. Obviously this person has no business reviewing movies.

  • pscotfield on 20 April 2012

    You just gave rotten for this movie to be the first in the RT right? How can you give fresh to Drive Angry and rotten to Avengers? even though it's 3/5.

    PS: I watched the movie.

  • oskytucosky on 20 April 2012

    What a biased review. You gave The Green Hornet a fresh rating on RT? Seriously? wtf

    • 34903I4 on 23 April 2012

      They pay her to rile people up to get traffic for this site. If everyone with a brain pans a film, she'll give it 5 stars and will call it a "masterpiece" just to get a reaction. That's the level of integrity these "professional blog writers" exhibit. Send her to review Battleship, she'll come come out the theater with tears in her eyes, saying she had a "catharsis". Soulless demons who'll do anything to get ahead.

    • Amy Stain on 24 April 2012

      This film also scored lower than Think like a man...nuff said.

  • Vorked on 20 April 2012

    You actually wanted this movie to suck, didn't you? I've seen your other reviews, and your bias opinions on pretty much everything. You spelled names wrong, you got names wrong, You somehow managed to think that explosions and aliens means Transformers. You have no business being a critic if you are going to act like this.

    • 34903I4 on 23 April 2012

      Her boss/lover says it's better than having her make the coffee and answering phones and besides what else was she going to do with that creative writing degree daddy paid for?

  • Movie2012 on 20 April 2012

    I know the first bad review was gonna come from a woman ..... a 3 starts review counts as fresh for movies she rate the same as Beastly, Drive Angry, Sanctum and Piranha 3D. 4 very average movies at its best and pure trash compare to any of the avengers individual movies ..... In what sense of the world, this is going to look like Transformers 3?

  • pscotfield on 20 April 2012

    By the way, it's Nick Fury not Nick Frost. Did you watch the movie?

    • s7evenbay on 20 April 2012

      you beat me to it.

      • pscotfield on 20 April 2012

        The more the better, so maybe she'll understand.

  • PUNKem on 20 April 2012

    The bad review is fine, not everyone will love even the most beloved movie, but reading this poorly written piece hurts one's head. Also after giving GL a fresh rating made me giggle. You seem like a femal Armond White, just not as articulate. Who knows you might have loved it, but given it a shitty write up for more hits on your site. Oh well I HATED every Marvel movie to date, but after seeing this, I thought it was EASILY the best CBM ever. The First 20-30 mins are slightly slow and clunky, but the last hour, especially the last 30-40 mins was something I have never experienced in a movie.

  • s7evenbay on 20 April 2012

    it's Nick Fury, samuel jackson is playing Nick fury. not nick Frost.

  • EnergyJ on 20 April 2012

    She gives all DC films a Fresh review including Watchmen, but all the Marvel films from Iron Man to Incredible Hulk she gave it all Rotten.

    • TDKR on 20 April 2012

      It's her opinion she likes DC more than Marvel, nothing wrong with that.

    • 34903I4 on 23 April 2012

      No she liked Green Lantern because Ryan Reynolds, rom-com mainstay, was shirtless in that film. That's why she liked it. Numbskulls like you give REAL female journalists a bad name.

      • magenk on 24 May 2012

        I liked Green Lantern more than Avengers. Not as clunky, better directing.

  • tt1 on 20 April 2012

    Is it seriously your -job- to review movies when you can't even be bothered to remember character names?
    Really, there are probably 100 people within 3 city blocks of you that are 10000x more qualified for this job than you are.

    • 34903I4 on 23 April 2012

      Remembering names is HARD!

  • TheHeartSleeves on 20 April 2012

    I think:
    A) getting angry at a critic for giving their opinion is silly and childish. Some folks just aren't ever going to like Genre films. Please calm down and go outside for a walk in the sun folks.
    B) You will see a few critics try to garner attention by being the only ones to not like something. When you make a fuss about them you are helping them. (not implying that is true here, but it could be)
    C) Getting angry because someone doesn't know all the names or makes a mistake in accuracy is futile. Just enjoy the movie we all have been waiting for.
    Amy's review is not going stop the Avengers or Avengers II.

  • storymark on 20 April 2012

    My personal policy - disregard reviewers who don't bother to proof-read. If they're that lazy about their writing, why pay them any attention?

  • delfra on 20 April 2012

    Nothing gets 100%, i'm highly aware of that. Now that being said, can someone please explain to me how a 3/5 score constitutes a rotten tomato, i don't get it. Yes this reviewer is certainly entittled to her own opinion on "The Avengers", no doubt, but she seems to be contridicting herself in the grade of this review. Though not a great score, a 3/5 is a passing score to me, i'm sorry reviewer, but it is. Now if you would have giving this film a 2 or 2.5 out of 5, yes, that would have been considered a Rotten Tomato. Though i have yet to see "The Avengers", this review might just be a testament to how good it really is, when your only rotten score out of 20+ reviews so far is a 3 out of 5, what does that tell us. Until i see a 2/4 or 2/5 score, as far as i'm concerned "The Avengers" is still at 100% on RT.

  • beetheb on 20 April 2012

    I think:
    "A) getting angry at a critic for giving their opinion is silly and childish. Some folks just aren't ever going to like Genre films. Please calm down and go outside for a walk in the sun folks.
    B) You will see a few critics try to garner attention by being the only ones to not like something. When you make a fuss about them you are helping them. (not implying that is true here, but it could be)"

    What this guy said.

  • minxiepinx on 20 April 2012

    Wow, I'm ashamed to share the same last name as this 'reviewer'.

  • ihateamy on 21 April 2012

    I see you edited you incorrect facts in your post. Maybe you should have written it right in the first place. I mean - NICK FROST? WTF? I hope you die in a fire Amy.

  • Marvelous on 21 April 2012

    Regardless that this piece is poorly written, you gave the review 3 out of 5 (some say it was 3.5.) Did you drop the percentage to match your 'rotten' review because if you did, you didn't go down far enough? It's simple math really. I'm sure you learned it in grade school. 3 out of 5 is 60% which, by school standards isn't impressive but by rottentomatoes standards (which is the only way you are getting your 15 minutes of fame) is considered 'fresh.'

    • Some Guy on 21 April 2012

      Who cares whether it's 3 or 3.5? You realise a C is a passing grade, right? No comic book movie will ever be worth 5 stars... Did you actually read the review? It was very well written. Just because you don't agree doesn't make her wrong or a poor writer...

  • Marvelous on 21 April 2012

    And, as someone already mentioned, it's fine to have your opinion. Liking (or not liking in this case) a movie is purely subjective and often reflects not only the film but our attitudes and expectations when viewing it. However, you gave other movies a 'fresh' rating even though you scored them 3 out of 5 as well. If you want to be taken seriously as a reviewer, you need to be consistent in how you grade the films.

    • Donald_K_Punchovich on 25 April 2012

      Except that it's not well-written. It is in fact very poorly written, self-masturbatory garbage by a self-absorbed cunt who very possibly watched the film with her eyes half closed. In fact I would be willing to bet a paycheck on the possibility that she spent a good deal of the movie balancing her checkbook or something, because it's clear that this shitty schlock writer didn't actually watch the film.

  • Some Guy on 21 April 2012

    Very well written review. Nice. I loved the line about Sam Jackson's eye patch. 100% on point. I can't wait to see this film!

    • 34903I4 on 23 April 2012

      Why did you love that line, are you a moron too? He didn't wear an eyepatch convincingly? What an insightful comment.

  • chandler windham on 21 April 2012

    OK (giggle ) First of all let’s all calm down. It’s obvious that this person is not a geek. The reason i state this is because we can clearly tell that she has no idea what she’s talking about. The first clue, is her Nick-Frost reference lol. I truly believe that only geeks should review geek films. The reason being, “reviews" like this one. Geeks understand what they’re looking at, regardless of weather they liked it or not. If you want proof of her ineptitude, look no further than her Transformers 3 comparison. When someone declares Green Lantern and Green Hornet, “Fresh,” You know she has no footing in the genre. If you want to read an article on the upcoming Avengers film, please check out my blog. www.thepeoplesmic.blogspot.com - There you will also find the movie Trailer, vintage pics and a link to other critic reviews. Please let me know what you think. If you like, follow me in both places. Oh, also answer the one question poll at the top of the blog. “Which Avenger should appear in the sequel?” I will be writing a review of the film on May 4th.

    • 34903I4 on 23 April 2012

      I feel that people should be sent to review films if they would, in the real life, pay to go see said film, if someone sent me to go review Burlesque I'd review it poorly because I'm not a fan of that type of film ie crap.

  • clown_prince on 22 April 2012

    She gave "Burlesque" a "B"...I rest my case.

  • clown_prince on 22 April 2012

    Let me clarify this...she thinks Burlesque...one of the shittiest movies ever made...is better than The Avengers. I think we should blame her boss though since it isn't her fault her opinion carries absolutely no weight with this kind of film.

    • clown_prince on 22 April 2012

      oh and comparing this to Michael bay? You are either being unnecessarily cruel or unbelievably lazy.

  • Charlie2094 on 22 April 2012

    This is only ONE "Rotten" review guys and even that, its still at 3/5. Yes I'm a huge Marvel fan, but the 100% was inevitably going to drop, everyone has different tastes so go see it for yourself or read the REST of the "Fresh" reviews. She points out many of the same strengths as many reviewers, such as the Hulk (FINALLY!) and weaknesses I've heard friends moan about, Nick Fury etc. The film will still explode at the box office, and retain a high rating on the "tomatometer", give the reviewer some slack. Good review to read, just confused why 3/5 is "Rotten", I thought that'd be classsed as Fresh.

    • 34903I4 on 23 April 2012

      Everyone in the civilized world thinks this is the best comic book film ever and one woman gives it a bad review. This what happens when you send a woman with Katherine Heigl posters on her bedroom walls to review a comic book movie.

      • Tone on 26 April 2012

        Can I ask why you feel so strongly about this review? Does it affect you in a massive way? "26 people gave it glowing reviews and one person shat on it. Obviously she did it for attention". Why can't you focus on the reviews that you like, and then move on with your life? And maybe you should try being less sexist and non-constructive in your critique.

  • Nobody on 22 April 2012

    Bitch what the fuck is wrong with you, I knew there would be bad reviews from some people but not from spiteful assholes who bash shit for attention.

  • Nobody on 22 April 2012

    You gave step up the same rating as inception lmao

    • 34903I4 on 23 April 2012

      Hey, step up had all that super fun dancing and like way cool music, if Inception had added those things she'd have rightly given it a higher score, I'm sure.

  • Nobody on 22 April 2012

    Don't know shit.

  • beetheb on 23 April 2012

    She didn't bash it for attention, it's starting to become clear she's a DC fangirl, so she actually had an agenda.

    • 34903I4 on 23 April 2012

      26 people gave it glowing reviews and one person shat on it. Obviously she did it for attention.

  • mattfarmer on 23 April 2012

    The bad news is that if you haven't seen Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince, and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows Part One —that's roughly 17.5 hours of homework—Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part Two won't make sense. The good news is it's the third highest grossing film of all time. I don't know how long you've been working in the film industry Ms. Nicholson, but there are these things called "Sequels", and generally if the series is a good one, they do really well.

  • beetheb on 23 April 2012

    "The bad news is that if you haven't seen Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone, Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban, Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire, Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, Harry Potter and the Half Blood Prince, and Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollows Part One —that's roughly 17.5 hours of homework—Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part Two won't make sense."

    Lmao, gold.

  • Movie2012 on 24 April 2012

    It's Ok to don't like some movies. But comparing this to Michael Bay? Wow, even I like Transformers can be an insult to a lot of people.

  • MikeChurch on 25 April 2012

    I can't believe the vitriol spewed in these comments. Last time I checked, people are allowed to express their own opinions. It's only a movie people; you should channel all that passion into something that really matters - like solving world hunger, helping the homeless, etc. Amy didn't like the Avengers movie so you call her some of the vilest things imaginable. It's time for you folks to move out of your parents' basements and start experiencing life.

    • Donald_K_Punchovich on 25 April 2012

      Yes Mikey, people are allowed to express their opinions. That privilege doesn't stop at out-of-touch film critics, you drooling simpleton.

      Also folks, how utterly stupid is it of this guy to go on about solving world hunger and whatnot while wasting his time moaning about comments posted to an article that was written by someone whose great contribution to the world consists solely of tearing down other people's hard work for a paycheck? Is this guy for real? At least the comments taking the critic to task were on-point. This guy just has a Napoleon complex and a pathetic need to fill the void left in his assuredly empty, miserable life by waving his self-important finger in people's faces on the internet. What a winner!

      The irony of his basement comment is that he appears so sheltered and closed off from the rest of the world that it wouldn't be a stretch to imagine that he sleeps in mommy and daddy's bed because the monster in his closet is scary! I bet you still piss the bed, don't you Mikey, you sad, pathetic asshole?

      You fucking suck, Mikey. Get a life. Get laid, get a hobby, just do something, 'cause this shit aint a valuable use of your time, you sad social reject.

  • Clarka on 25 April 2012

    Everything is good and i like it.I wish i am one of them,O God.

  • beetheb on 25 April 2012

    I think this is a prime example of fitting the right reviewer with the right film, ESPECIALLY in cases where the film is hotly anticipated and Boxofficemag gets an early screening. I don't think Amy Nicholson was the right person to review this film, as she didn't seem to be able to critique solely on merit. Reading through her reviews it really just seems like she has an ax to grind with Marvel Studios.

    It's a shame Ms. Nicholson has to be the target of so much vitriol though. Her integrity and intelligence don't need to be questioned, at the end of the day it IS just a movie.

  • beetheb on 25 April 2012

    Also, the "get out of your parents basements" comments to anyone who disagreed with Amy's review are just as retarded as the overly vicious comments directed at her. It's an attempt to marginalize all the criticism against her by brushing everyone off as pathetic obsessed nerds, and I call bullshit.

    You wrote a controversial review, Amy. A lot of people disagree with it, and I assure you not all of them live in their parents basement. You need to accept that.

  • beetheb on 25 April 2012

    And one other thing: BOY does Boxofficemagazine look out of touch with THE ONLY negative review of the film, especially since it's opened overseas today and the general public (not just thise basement dwelling geeks) are going crazy for it.

  • lordhuck on 25 April 2012

    All you have to know about this reviewer is she gave positive reviews to Twilight, Green Lantern, Green Hornet, and Drive Angry. You can now officially lose respect for her opinion.

    • Xavier on 29 April 2012

      All you should learn to know:
      Different people have different opinion.
      You really feel insulted by someone not liking a movie, YOU did not make, that you probably like? I mean come on... GET A LIFE.

      It would be a boring world if everyone agreed on everything.

      Amy's review is so far the only objective one. The others seem to have theri blinders on (or they have been payed by Disney).

      Thanks Amy!!!

  • Jen Yamato on 25 April 2012

    You sexist fucks who don't have the balls to sign your own names to the shameful comments you've posted here would never say anything like this to Amy's face.

  • granch777 on 25 April 2012

    I saw this yesterday. I am 49 but felt like a 12 year old again. I was in heaven and couldnt get the smile off my face. My son who is studying film production and slowly becoming jaded was equally as rapturous. Seven people with me aged between 14 and 81- including one female- came out of that movie on a high saying " what about that scene... and that one..." This is quite simply, the best superhero movie ever made. Reviewer, I don't know what you saw or what mood you were in but you have made a huge mistake. I sincerely hope you are big enough to go back, rewatch it and say "What was I thinking?". Then shout aloud and cheer as Hulk and Thor go toe to toe!

  • Tone on 26 April 2012

    And if you're reading this and are thinking about posting a sexist/childish/non-constructive/cruel comment, please ask yourself this first: Does this review affect you in any way? Do you feel so strongly about this that you have to make this person feel so bad about herself? Not to sound juvenile and naive, but I really wish people would start treating each better and focus on what makes them happy, rather than spending their time on things they don't like! Especially when it's about something so trivial as this..

  • phoenix0879 on 26 April 2012

    You know what? All the sexist comments here are a fucking disgrace. You can disagree with a review, that's fine. But the moment you resort to personal attacks against the reviewer then all you do is show that your comment is utterly irrelevant and meaningless trolling. 90% of the negative comments are complete and utter bollocks that say more about the poster than the reviewer. As in sexist, misogynistic arseholes have gotten on line again.

    I haven't seen the film yet, but I will. I don't expect it to be perfect, NO film is ever perfect. If Samuel Jackson hasn't improved his performance since his appearances in Iron Man 1 & 2, Thor and Captain America, I expect to be very disappointed with Nick Fury. I hope I'm wrong, but his every appearance as the character so far has been utterly lacklustre. And the eyepatch DOES look lame. He just can't carry off 'the look'.

    So she didn't like the movie. Big whoop. She gave her reasons, even if some disagree with those reasons. And to me, 3 out of 5 is middle ground, which means it can be either fresh or rotten. I would rate Resident Evil 3/5 and fresh, because despite being technically pretty awful, I still love it for some reason. It entertains me. Now Star Trek Nemesis I would rate 3/5 and rotten, even though I am a huge trekkie. It just is not entertaining at all.

  • Rachel Fox on 26 April 2012

    Since when does film criticism have to do with being "right?" What is the "right" opinion, anyway? It's all subjective.

    All this woman did was give her impression of a movie.

    The vile, sexist nature of some of the comments here is equal parts fascinating, pathetic, and shameful.

    It's also funny/weird to me how so many of these commenters are taking her negative opinion so personally, like they have some sort of stock in what other people think about a movie they had nothing to do with.

    Bottom line, lively discourse is one thing but the lame-ass sexist sh!t on a board like this is just ignorant, desperate, and... so 1994.

  • wesleygibson on 26 April 2012

    Bravo Amy! Ignore these idiots; I think it's hilarious and brave to see you riling up these sensitive uber-nerds!

  • Daniel Plumey on 26 April 2012

    Hi Jen, Tone, Phoenix, Rachel and Wesley,

    My name is Daniel and I am giving my name as indication that I am not hiding behind a post as not to be recognized.

    I understand that you come to the defense of Amy Nicholson because of the type of responses she received due to her "negative" review of the movie. Two or should I say five wrongs do not make a right. Defend her if you must but understand that while you defend her right to review, you impede the "rights" of others to do the same by posting responses. You don't have to like them.

    There are no laws or rules that they must abide by in retorts, posts be it sexist or otherwise. She is entitled to her opinion, wrong or otherwise and they are entitled to theirs. I for one don't see the logic behind her review as she is obviously not a fan of this genre. She should have not reviewed it knowing she doesn't get it. That's what makes this a semi moot review on her part. She has no connection to the history as most who posted do.

    I have been reading comics since age 7 and I am 49 now. They shaped my life and career as an artist who almost worked for Marvel (I chose the military, Point is, she bashed a movie that is being hailed by top movie goers and if you five haven't viewed it, then I say shame on you for your opinionated posts simply based on defense of her "sexist attackers". Understand the passion these people have behind it (for the movie) and then come to grips with the wrath you spew here as well. Its like me telling you your mother sucks because she can't bake a pie.

    Bottom line is she honestly is wrong on this, opinion or not. She dropped the ball and you ladies need to relax as well. Its a free country.

    We can say what we want. You can also. I won't go back and forth on this issue, just stating my opinion.

    By the way, the movie is the best Marvel movie ever made.

    Nuff said.

    • Tone on 26 April 2012

      Hi Daniel!
      I am not in any way saying that people should not be able to give their opinion and disagree with this article. I myself agree that this review is not a very good one because, as many have mentioned, she gets some names wrong, etc. I am just disappointed in how people are sharing their opinion. I am not a very actively feminist person, but I do feel that is wrong to critique someones work on the basis on someone's gender, even if it is just on a comment section on the internet. Everyone is titled to their opinion, I just think that people should be more constructive in their critique.

  • Daniel Plumey on 26 April 2012

    Oh yes, to BOXOFFICE Media, LLC,

    Shame on you for the tactic used by your staff to have one confused *cough reviewer to write something this bad as to go against the grain just to drive registration on your site.

    It is so blatantly obvious this was done for that purpose and while most will just bash Amy for her fraudulent effort, I look at the method to your madness. If you can honestly say this movie (The Avengers) is as bad as she contrives it to be, then you are just as guilty she is in your reporting to the masses.

    Feel free not to use my email to deliver any correspondences from your site as I will report them as spam.

    Shame on you for not being honest at your craft.

    Regards,

    Daniel

  • Daniel Plumey on 26 April 2012

    From Twitter:
    Amy Nicholson ‏ @AmyBoxoffice Reply Retweet Favorite · Open
    @mrbeaks I feel you. I'm right on the fence about Avengers -- could practically flip a coin to decide if it's fresh or rotten.

    Then she writes:
    Amy Nicholson ‏ @AmyBoxoffice Reply Retweet Favorite · Open
    Sorry to ruin THE AVENGERS perfect RT score, but I wasn't a fan.

    That last statement (tweet) supports my post. Had she been a fan, her review would have been a "fresh" one on RottenTomatoes.com

    Wow. She then goes on to mock the RT 96% rating with:

    Amy Nicholson ‏ @AmyBoxoffice Reply Retweet Favorite · Open
    These blueberry pancakes are 96% delicious. http://twitpic.com/9chu40

    What a joke. She's the Editor here to boot. Hahahaha that is sad.

    I'm out.

  • scratchabonejackson on 26 April 2012

    Well.... i have to admit my family home burnt down because i had my Avengers Comics stacked too close to the heater (my father warned me plenty of times).
    so as you can imagine i was really hanging to see this film. it seemed to heading in the right direction and had a great deal of substance but towards the end i realized there were no Raptor's? I enjoyed the special fx and the acting but it seemed so empty without Velociraptors. had i been making the film they would have appeared within 40 mins at least. if i can add anything it would be this. More velociraptors or in this case at least some and bring them in much earlier.

  • wesleygibson on 26 April 2012

    @ Daniel-

    Her review isn't even that bad! LMAO. I can't wait until a "REAL" pan comes out. You geeks are going to lose your minds.

    Because she wasn't over the moon, her review is a fraudulent and simply a ploy for web traffic? Talk about paranoid!

  • Cristina P. on 26 April 2012

    @Daniel, you are right. It is a free country. People can and will say whatever they want. But there is a moral line that people need to be wary of and many of these folks crossed it with zero remorce for their words. So by your standards telling people like Tone, Rachel Phoenix etc to "relax" you are essentially cosigning those vicious remarks. In that sense, if someone was at a girl's softball game and the pitcher was giving up homeruns and walks all game long, would it then be ok to yell at that girl to say how much she sucks? Yell at her and say she was so bad, she should have never been born? Threaten her? I mean it's a free country right? I should be able to say anything I want.
    It's free to say whatever you wish to but when you cross the line over something so trivial, you then should be shot from a canon straight into a wall. And those that defend those comments should be shot right behind them.

  • olivia91 on 26 April 2012

    It's not that she didn't like the movie and therefore gave it a bad review is what's wrong, it's because her points for why are either very weak. "Somehow lands back on earth no problemo, and when he learns Jane was transferred six states away for her own safety, he doesn't even bother to visit"- I'm so sorry there's a character that actually cares about the safety of the planet more than himself, masturbate to Twilight much? (She gave Eclipse a 3.5), or plain wrong "Scarlett Johansson's Black Widow and Jeremy Renner's Hawkeye thrown in for kicks (or for historical accuracy, if you're a longer-term fan)" - they were never original Avengers. If you have legitimate points, and therefore really don't like it that's fine, but you are an embarrassment to your profession. You make up points to justify your already biased opinion and garner more hits for your site. Really rather pathetic.

  • jerichomccune on 26 April 2012

    Amy,

    I'm a comics geek, so I'm sure I'll disagree with your point of views in a number of ways, but I thought I should thank you for a well-written and intelligent review.

    Enjoyment is subjective. You were quite right to give your honest opinion, regardless of an urge to keep the film 100% fresh or whatever. I'm sure there will be a few more negative reviews after the film is released in the US. I wish it were otherwise, but that's the game.

    A number of the points you bring up are not surprising. I was wondering how non-fans would react to this ensemble and you summed it up nicely. The funny thing is, you seemed to enjoy it somewhat, and that's a great thing! Three of five stars isn't an awful rating, so if yours is the most negative review out there the fanboys should be happy. How can anyone be offended that the poorest review was a 60%?

    Ignore the haters. These are the parts of the gene pool that don't count, that natural selection will eventually cure us of. They can't use their words well enough to creatively condemn you and they certainly couldn't use them well enough to make a living off of film reviews, so their POV isn't worth a bent nickle. They're just bullies complaining about getting punched in the arm.

    I've created an account on the site thanks to this review. Keep up the good work.

    Jericho

  • eviekay1970 on 27 April 2012

    I am agog at this disgusting display of bullying! I saw the "The Avengers" in the UK yesterday and was blown away by it. But why on earth would I expect everyone, or even anyone else to share my opinion? What difference does it make if it ruins a score? Are you all 8 years old?? And what irony that a major theme of this movie is free will V mind control, so well done for entirely missed that point. Grow up.

  • eviekay1970 on 27 April 2012

    Oops, I mean "missing" not "missed" that point.

  • Stephanie L. on 28 April 2012

    The only I will agree with her is her review of Tom Hiddleston's perfomance, even though I believe it was way more amazing than what she described it as.
    But actually burying a movie just because you have never touched a comic book in your life, or because you are not into superheroes so much? Really?
    You should really evaluate yourself and ask a simple question. What kind of a critic are you, to use such biased sentences in a review that should at least admit that this movie met the expectations of a lot of people? Is this the type of work you do? Just flaring a fan into a fire towards the fans because you can?
    I am terribly ashamed of you. And in the end, if you didn't like the movie, at least have legitimate reasons for doing so, because the ones you wrote sometimes do not even reflect the truth about this movie. Unbelievable.

  • orundi on 28 April 2012

    the thing that saddens me most about this article isn't the fact that she didn't remember a key characters name correctly, or that she is clueless to the mythos surrounding the marvel universe. it is the fact that the boxoffice magazine actually publishes her works, as a voice of the mainstream viewer. how can we take this publication seriously when they are throwing this trash out as a competent opinion?

    Dear boxofficemagazine.com,
    Please excuse miss Amy Nicholfrost from your payroll. the boxoffice customers will thank you in the end. having integrity when reporting, yes even entertainment, is important.

    thank you
    just one of the members that used to value your opinions

    **editors retraction: incorrectly addressed Amy Nicholson as Amy Nicholfrost.. sorry for any misunderstandings.

  • Xavier on 29 April 2012

    Best review I have read so far. Finally someone nailing it. And finally someone who is really looking at the film with blinders off.

    I have a very similar opinion.

    Honestly people?! What's the hype.

    The first half of the film is slow, so slow... the dialogues are lame and pathetic. With the exception of Robert Downey Jr., Tom Hiddleston and Mark Rufallo the actors perfrom really statically. Even the usually excelent actress Scarlett Johansson performs underwhelingly. Evans and Hemsworth are not even worth mentioning.
    And then the Technobabble... Ionic compensator here, Flux field modulator there... It was like listening to a random Star Trek Voyager episode... Someone in the audience said "Boring" and people started to laugh...

    The SFX sequences are great, and as soon as the aircraft carrier is attacked the film finally gains speed and action but until then the 70 minutes feel tiresome and boring. Dialogue seems forced and the whole direction like a TV show rather than a big budget blockbuster movie.

    I enjoyed the effects (ILM once again), but I did not find the character chemistry so many here talk about. Even worse: Some characters just behave like idiots. When Iron Man fights Thor, Loki is waiting... for what? I mean he could get away within those 10 minutes of fight (which feel like an hour or so)...

    The score is lame and exchangable.

    For me it was a huge letdown. Actually I went in there to just enjoy the visuals (especially after the mediocre movies THOR and CA), but I had to fight through the first hour to get what I wanted...

    What a disappointment this movie is. And this comes from a straight male in his late 20ies who has a beautiful girlfriend most of those comic-book-reading nerds can only dream about...

    • Joshbrittain on 29 April 2012

      I thought the movie was great! I was really happy that the movie wasn't all action and took a little time to build up to the good stuff. Sadly,yes, I'm a comic book nerd. I've been into them since I was 8 and I'm 30 now. To me, the movie was everything I'd want from a comic book movie and granted it isn't for everyone. I don't agree with everyone bashing so hard on amy but she could've done a better job in my eyes. Now, as for your passive aggressive slam on us nerds......fuck you .....fuck you...you little piss ant. I'm tired of people like you saying comic book nerds dont have girl friends or lifes or any of that bullshit. I'm married to a smokin hot asian woman ..I'm a amateur kickboxing champion and martial arts instructor...I have a life as do many many people who enjoy comics. It's cool with me if you don't like this movie...it's america you have that right but when you end your post with a stab toward the people who enjoy comments thats total bullshit. What makes you a expert on this movie? you posted:" I went there just to enjoy the visuals:....and ..."this comes from a straight male in his late twenties who has a beautiful girlfriend most comic book reading nerds can only dream about" ...so thats what makes you credible huh? hot gf? So you know all about the decades upon decades of back story and thought that went into making these comics? You punk.....you're one of those brain dead movie types that has to have everything explained and spelled out for you with nice little lights flashing just to keep your attention. But thats ok, you can do that..you have that right ..just like I have the right to call you dickless and a R-tard.

  • Andyfighter on 29 April 2012

    I think she has been very kind. I hated it and found it insulting to my intelligence. Terrible movie with some awful dialogue.Why are people having a go at her for this, reminds me of when people got all excited over transformers, and that was a pile of crap. The Avengers lacks any redeemable qualities, it's just dumb hollywood action, nothing more. True film buffs will appreciate this review, I imagine the people that get upset are the same ones that thought transformers was worth watching. Enough said

  • Andyfighter on 29 April 2012

    I've just realised a lot of the people slamming her havent even seen the movie. So what are you on about? How can you know if its good if you havent seen it. The movie will disappoint you, unless you just want dumb action and nothing else, I'm really not exaggerating, it's that bad.

  • Xavier on 29 April 2012

    They will be far too proud (and childish) to admit, that they were disappointed. This would mean to accept once mistake. And from the childish comments some of them posted here, most of them are not capable of reflection and intellectual thinking.

  • tom4891 on 30 April 2012

    Your ignorance of the Marvel universe and its characters is clearly evident in your review.

  • Xaon on 30 April 2012

    You guys are pathetic. Sense when was somebody not aloud to give their opinion? I am sure there is more than one person that doesn't care for the movie. It's funny, you all think you have an all mighty opinion about something. So much that you make yourself looks like fools. You are so tough city at your computers in your mommies basements. Idiots, just pure idiots. You make me ashamed to be a comic book fan.

  • Todd Gilchrist on 30 April 2012

    I agree with Xaon -- you're all a bunch of pathetic cowards (and agreeing with other above, sexist assholes) if you feel so strongly about an opinion that you don't want to agree with that you would make personal attacks on whoever offered it. First of all, I'd almost guarantee that 90% of you have not even seen the film, so you have no authority or perspective to offer to oppose her opinion. Second, the hell with people accusing her of having "an agenda," whether it's to write a contrarian opinion, being a DC rather than Marvel fan, or any other insane self-justification you can come up with to allow your feeble brains to accept that she doesn't feel the way that you want her to feel. And third, if you're going to accuse her of ignorance of "the Marvel universe" or not being the person who should have reviewed this because she's not (or not enough of) a comic-book fan, then (1) grow up, and (2) I expect you to be an expert on the subject matter of anything and everything that you offer your opinion about, forever. If she wrote a review asking what is a superhero or couldn't comprehend why people in spandex suits were fighting each other with superpowers, then fair enough. But this film was not designed to jerk off comic book fans and tell the rest of the world to go to hell -- it's supposed to be entertainment that anyone can understand and enjoy, and if you aren't mature enough to accept that a person might have an opinion that's different than yours -- or again, different than the one that you want to have BEFORE YOU'VE EVEN SEEN THE FILM -- then that's your problem. The comments above are disrespectful, shameful, disgusting and cowardly, and I can only hope one day that you receive the kind of hateful bile and blanket condemnation for whatever you put your earnest and sincere effort into doing as well and honestly as possible.

  • Joshbrittain on 01 May 2012

    Todd,
    I agree with you about the amy bashing. It's not ok to be a sexist asshole. agreed. What I disagree with is your comment about this movie not being designed to jerk off comic book fans. I don't want to speak for anyone else but I had a multiple orgasim. The whole reason they started making these movies was because of us. Theres a whole new market for them and now they know if they do it right then they'll make biiig money. The avengers has almost made close to 200 million in a week overseas.....and it hasn't even opened in the u.s. yet. These are our movies...our art.... we take it very seriously. Now if people have a problem with that then.... thats their problem.....
    now about the more rabid fans...yea..they can be dicks....and need to mature a bit. It doesnt help us look good guys if you bash her and call her names ect...just bash her shitty reveiw....not the person.Thanks

  • mtgilchrist on 02 May 2012

    Hi Josh, thanks for responding. But respectfully I think you're missing the important part of my argument with your response, which is "this film was not designed to jerk off comic book fans AND TELL THE REST OF THE WORLD TO GO TO HELL -- IT'S SUPPOSED TO BE ENTERTAINMENT THAT ANYONE CAN UNDERSTAND AND ENJOY." I absolutely think they want to make comic book fans happy, but the sad fact is that comic book fans alone cannot make ANY movie a hit; if they could, Scott Pilgrim and Cowboys & Aliens would have been smashes. The reason that Avengers is doing well now is not because comic book fans alone mobilized around the world and made it a hit, it's because Marvel successfully made people who are NOT comic book fans want to pay to see the film. Ad the bottom line is that every film wants to attract every possible kind of moviegoer, because as artistic or artful as they are meant to be, they're still a product that must be sold to as many people as will buy them. I'm not questioning anyone's respect for or appreciation or enjoyment of comic book movies, but there's a reason it's called show BUSINESS. (I hope this is taken in the spirit in which it was intended, which is as further discussion, clarification and respectful disagreement. Again, thank you for your respectful response.)

  • mtgilchrist on 02 May 2012

    And sorry for the switch in username -- this is "Todd Gilchrist."

  • chandler windham on 03 May 2012

    Can someone please tell me how this Amy chick has a job as a professional film critic? Anyway my fellow geeks. Thanks for the support of my Avengers blog. I really appreciate it. www.thepeoplesmic.blogspot.com

  • Joshbrittain on 03 May 2012

    Todd,
    Once again I disagree with you...respectfuly of course. To say that all movies are entertainment for all people to enjoy is a little off. There are so many movies made from sharespeare ect. that only a few people truely understand lol and select people watch them beacause it's art and sometimes great acting. There is no rule that says all movies have to be accessable for everyone. Now to compare scott pilgrim, cows and aliens to the avengers is a huge mistake. Those were indy comics....not huge mainstream comics like the avengers or x-men ect. Christ, my dad knows who the avengers are. The reason the avengers IS a hit isn't because they did something to make non comic people want to see it it's because they finally told the stories right , were true to the characters and made it kick ass. The point is we as fans don't want a comic book movie thats going to be rewritten and repackaged so almost nothing looks and sounds like the comics we grew up on . Just so people who know nothing about it won't be left in the dark .Hollywood loves to think it can do better and that they know better. I never read lord of the rings but image if they totally changed the entire mythology of it? well, in the past they tried to with comic book movies. What happened? It bombed . It pissed off fans, and really ,when you get down to brass tacks ,it waters down the characters and stories as well. Do I want other people to enjoy the avengers? Hells yea..Do I want it at the sake of it losing it's soul? hells no...Yes todd its a business ...and they have to sell the product but they're really selling it to us comics nerds. Once they realized some of us would go out and watch it in the theater three times in a row ( that was me when X-men first came out. swear to god ) in one day BAM! cha-ching baby. now, When they tried to sell us a lemon and fuck with they characters ....the movie dint do so good. This is OUR movie.....everybody else is just along for the ride. thanks Todd! BTW, last I checked Avengers has grossed 200 million overseas...and its not even open in america yet.

  • Joshbrittain on 03 May 2012

    is this gilchrist from montana?

  • thealytarch.com on 06 May 2012

    It appears it has been a free for all bashing of Amy (some of it deserved) or defiant defense. The main problem is her irregularities in ratings throughout the past and linking this movie to Michael Bay who is a laughable excuse of a director. Shame on you for not seeing the great accomplishment The Avengers was in choreographing a cast of superheroes into a coherent and exhilarating film. Its meant to be fun, not Schindler's List. I usually average The New York Times, Ebert, LA, Entertainment Weekly and Rotten Tomatoes and when they all say something is good, those critics that differ I really begin to question their process and tactics of reviewing. I say this as a film major, one who has made films and one who reviewed in his past when I had the time. Please explain what you process is, I have the admit the Pans Labyrinth remark earlier by someone was pretty damning, but really, can you write me sometime and explain, because we want to improve our consistency and articulate how we arrive at whatever star we stamp on the review.

  • Mnemonic on 06 May 2012

    Quite a good review. In my personal opinion the movie was pretty poor and left much to be desired, I mean can you seriously tell me that the person you saw on screen was "the black widow" and not Scarlett Johansson... me? I just saw Scarlett. Yeah sure the effects were somewhat well done although a bit uninspired and unimaginative, there were a few comic moments that I found funny and some I found not so, Downey's performance was great he actually made me feel in the moment as for the others they were pretty drab and soulless. Final summary? meh it was ok as an action movie I guess but still lacking. *Zeal Shield Activated!*

  • delfra on 12 May 2012

    Well i've now seen "The Avengers" twice and plan on seeing it one more time in theaters on IMAX 3D. I'm not going to say how much this critic is wrong, eventhough i think "The Avengers" is absolutely amazing. Like i said before she is entitled to her opinion, and personal attacks on this critic is not needed, it's not that serious. My only complaint with her was the 3/5 score being rotten, while with other films her 3/5 grades she scores fresh, that's my only REAL problem with this critic.

  • GLwasGr8 on 13 May 2012

    I came for the biased review, stayed for the shameful sexist remarks!

    You have the Avengers, which has garnered an overwhelming amount of praise since it hit the theaters. Then you have a mediocre writer with an obvious bias toward the franchise. This is enough to make the internet pin its ears back.

    But your mediocre writer happens to be a woman....hilarity ensues!

    It doesn't bother me either way. The Avengers had some bits that I didn't particularly care for, but I was still thoroughly blown away by the movie. Reviews don't phase me either way. This review does, however, just feel morally wrong. I don't want to be sexist here (maybe i do a little), but the reviewer strikes me as the type of person that would put a penis in her mouth for money. Like, not a LOT of money either, you know, 5 dollars or so. I'm not saying that she would, of course, just that her morals and values are along the same level.

  • immature on 14 May 2012

    All you idiots--it's a review, you misogynistic jerks. The film won't make one penny less because of a review, and even if it did, you will not make one penny from it. You've completely missed the point of the comics, which are against bullying, in favor of the few against the many. In ganging up on someone just because she disagrees with you, and making much of the fact that she's a woman, shows you completely miss their message, and the message of the movie. I don't agree with her review either, but try to embrace dissent instead of hating.

  • magenk on 24 May 2012

    I agree with this review completely. Not much character development and at times disjointed. Directing was Mediocre. The end battle scene was pretty entertaining though.

    If you got more out of the movie by knowing the backstory of the characters- GOOD FOR YOU! It doesn't mean you should leave demeaning comments for critics who disagree. What's wrong with you guys?

  • Rox on 25 May 2012

    As a female comic book fan (started reading them in the 1970s), I'm astounded by the bullying from those that supposedly support the anti-bully messages Marvel once were renowned for (I say 'once' because *that* Marvel wasn't interested in suing the actual creators of the superheroes for selling their own art-work...Shame on you Stan Lee and Disney!).
    I agree that one should not write/talk about subjects they know very little of (being a fanfic writer/reader, I come across a lot of stories written by people with little knowledge of canon), but to accuse a reviewer of giving bjs for five dollars, of being a b!tch, of being incompetent...all for being a non-fan/woman? Tch!
    I watched The Avengers, and gave it 2 stars (only for the great evilness that is Loki and "Puny God" moments...the rest of the movie was jumbled, strained, and I'm done with Marvel movies. The only ones to get thumbs up from me were the original Hulk, and the original Iron Man...the rest offended me as a long-time fan (yes, even Spiderman!). I shudder to think of what'll happen to Iron Fist or The Black Panther.
    @ Amy Nicholson: though I don't take reviewers seriously, simply because my own opinion is the most important to me in the end, I offer apologies to you on behalf of the fans who are not 'fanatic'...some of us live the message the superheroes hinted at - we aren't all bullies.

  • cain1701 on 29 May 2012

    I have bad news for you Amy,

    The comments posted here do not represent bullying as they are just an honest response to your incompetent appraisal of the avengers.

    No one here threatened Amy in any way. They simply stated their opinion of her review. It wasn't civil but really the review wasn't either. (in different ways of course)

    Avengers is a great movie and despite this pitiful review, it is going to set some records and go down as one of the greatest films ever.

    Shame on the defenders of Amy for labeling reaction to her lousy review as bullying.

    Go ahead and defend her if you want, but bullying is a crime. No one here has stepped over that line.

    Try to remember that there are people out there who really are getting bullied (amy is not one of them) and that calling something bullying that really isn't dishonors their memories and experiences.

  • Rox on 08 June 2012

    Definition for cyber bullying:
    Web definitions:
    Cyberbullying "involves the use of information and communication technologies to support deliberate, repeated, and hostile behavior...

  • Miss-Loki on 18 June 2012

    Sorry I got bored half way through that review. Everyone has their own opinion. At the end of the day the movie still made more money than Amy whatsherface will ever make. I've seen Avengers 6 times & loved every damn minute of it & I'm a 35 year old woman who understands the meaning of fun, & Avengers is fun... Some people will love it & some will hate it. Joss put a lot of hard work into this movie, if you think you can do better, go knock yourself out, cause you clearly think it's so damn easy!

What do you think?